Criteria and Guidelines for the Greg Montague Award


An Award called the “Greg Montague Distinguished Member Award” was instigated in 2009 in memory of Greg Montague, Director Montague Cold Storage. The Award’s major objective is to recognise exceptional contribution by a member of the RWTA to the growth and development of the Cold Chain Industry in Australia.


  • Achieved significant success and recognition, over an extensive career, within their own organisation;
  • Demonstrated outstanding initiative and leadership, above and beyond the call of normal duty, to develop and improve the cold chain industry in Australia for the benefit of most stakeholders; and
  • Would not be eligible for Life Membership of the RWTA as he/she has not served as National Chairman or Vice Chairman of the RWTA nor served on the National Board.


A judging panel of three, made up of the Board representative for Montague Cold Storage and two other present or former Board Members, will consider nominations from the RWTA membership and, if deemed appropriate, one Award will be made each year.
The judging panel for the 2013 Greg Montague Award was Peter Quinn (Montague Cold Storage), Barry Harvey AM (Austco Polar) and Ray Tanner (Oomiak).
The 2013 Award was announced at the 2013 RWTA National Conference Gala Dinner.
The Award is sponsored by Montague Cold Storage who will concurrently sponsor the Conference Gala Dinner for the foreseeable future.
From 2010, nominations for the Award are identified in conjunction with the Executive Officer of the RWTA, and nominations referred to the judging panel.
The judging panel will, independently, seek to identify suitable candidates.
All membership types (Corporate/Full/Associate) will be eligible for consideration for the Award.
The Award recipient receives an individual Trophy and recognition on an Honour Board located in the offices of the RWTA.